February 13th, 2010

Today I learned that after a week of being trapped indoors due to Stormagedon 2010, all of the people in the county where I live needed to go shopping. Grocery shopping, clothes shopping, whatever, everyone was out today. I learned this by circling the cramped and overcrowded parking lot of Whole Foods before finally parking across the street and walking to the store. I also learned that not everyone can back out of a parking space. This I learned while watching a woman hit the car beside her own three times (yes, three times, apparently she has not learned this about herself) while backing out of her spot. Okay, okay so maybe these aren’t “life lessons” per say, but if I am going to survive in this area I do need to figure out the traffic patterns and habits of those who drive here! There are hundreds of traffic accidents reported in this county each year and I do not want to be one of them. There was another incident today at a four way stop sign where the other drivers didn’t seem to know what to do. One would creep forward, and then see another car moving, so they would stop and then the car behind them would honk. So they’d move forward again but see they’d missed their chance, only to be met with a chorus of honking from nearby cars. What did I learn? Avoid four way stops.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. BigBear
    Feb 17, 2010 @ 15:18:56

    Hey LittleBear. I loved this post! The part about the woman who couldn’t back out of her spot was great. You know, in all the time you were having those storms in the South, up here in the North we only got a small fuzz of snow one morning. I wouldn’t even acknowledge as a snow fall. Your other posts are good too. I look forward to seeing more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

