Valentine’s Day

I wanted to post about Valentine’s Day but needed some time to mull it over.  Valentine’s Day was never a favorite holiday for me.  When I was younger I spent the day fretting over the fact that I didn’t have a boyfriend.  I remember one year I watched Titanic just for an excuse to cry.  Then there were my selfish years, when I had a boyfriend but spent the day comparing his gifts to what others were getting.  Like I said before, not all lessons are easy to learn and like most I need to actually go through these times to learn the error of my ways.  All that time I spent worrying about someone or something I didn’t have, missing out on the love all around me.  So from now on I am going to celebrate Valentine’s Day with everyone I love and those who love me.  I have decided to declare Valentine’s Day be not just for couples. Yes, I will greatly enjoy the special day with my husband, but I will appreciate my family and friends as well.  I will stop and help my neighbor and show people I care.  I saw proof of this everywhere I went on Valentine’s Day and the days surrounding it.  I saw the little girl with the heart shaped antennae hand band walking hand in hand with her family and the friends laughing and eating breakfast together.  I could feel the love from my student as she sang me a special Valentine Song to the tune of “You are my Sunshine” and another student asked if they could bring in teacher gifts. I think we should celebrate Valentine’s Day each in our own way.  If you do dinner out, enjoy flowers or just a simple card, tell someone you love them and find someone to love.  “There is only one happiness in this life…to love and be loved.” George Sand

Leave a Reply

