Looking Fabulous

Do you ever have one of those days where nothing you put on seems to look right, or feel right and getting dressed for work is just a chore? Thoughts like, “Why can’t I just wear jeans and hoodie to work?” and “Every day should be Pajama day!” pass through you head. Well, I do. Winter seems to bring it out especially, when I just want to be warm and snuggly.  I was having one such day this week but managed to pull it together. I picked a dress which I guess I don’t do that often but I didn’t think much more on my outfit until I got to work and the students arrived.  Boy did they notice!  One student said “What happend to my teacher?” Geeze! What do I normally look like?  And to my suprise one of my students was having a similar day!  When told by the Art teacher that she could wear a smock if she didn’t want to get dirty she replied, “I can’t do that! I have to look fabulous every day!”  If only I had such passion about my appearance, I probably would’ve taken the smock.  (In fact some of my favorite PJ’s resemble smocks!)

Anyway, Apparently 4th graders notice everything. And I mean everything. Not just what I say but what I do with my hair or the clothes I wear.  I was flattered by their kind words about my appearance, though a little taken aback.  Did my students really care about the clothes I wear each day?  If that was the case, imagine the power of my words! That got me thinking about the small notes I send home when a student has a good day and the private conversions about the bad days.  I remember this one parent told me that her son kept the “good day” note on the refridgerator for the whole year and into the summer.  If that’s the case for good news, how long do they carry the words I say in frustration?   It reminded my of a quote I’d read earlier in the week. “Be careful. Everything you say, every single day, may be recorded in your students’ hearts forever.” LouAnn Johnson

My fourth graders have taught me two things. The truth in those words, and a lesson in looking fabulous.

Leave a Reply

