Couch Potato to 5K

So when my Mom mentioned running in the annual 4th of July 5K again this year, I thought well if she can do it than I should be able to also. And what better time to start than on the eve of my 27th birthday.  I mean my Mom and I had already made a pact to live life more fully. By that I mean we are trying new things, going on adventures and just embracing each day.  We live in separate states, so we update each other through a journal and daily phone calls.  She’s started going to a weekly all women bike ride, gone to a variety of hockey games and found the courage to date again! I’ve gone to Vegan cooking classes, tried new restaurants, and gone to a Nationals Games – on a school night no less!!

In my journey to a healthy me, this 5K challenge seemed to come at a good time.  Along with the 21 Day Lunch Break challenge, my mind is very healthfully focused right now. So I am using the Couch Potato to 5K program along with some great podcasts that I found and I am recruiting those I love to run with me. My husband, my in-laws and of course my Mom.  Hopefully by telling the world through my blog I will see this thing through to the end. Today as I did workout number one I kept hearing Bob from the Biggest Loser saying “Stand up and finish what you started.”

I am learning, and growing and changing and I will not be defined by my past.  Wish me luck!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Belle
    May 10, 2010 @ 03:28:10

    Good for you and good luck! My husband and I are going to start running when I get back from vacation. I’m excited but nervous 🙂

    Reply

  2. kate
    May 11, 2010 @ 21:57:38

    YAY ASHLEY! I’m super proud of you and send good luck. I’m stuck in a country of no running, which is frustrating. But some day I will come back and run with you. In the meantime I morally support you from afar. And I know you have the determination to do it.

    Reply

  3. don
    May 15, 2010 @ 02:35:11

    Let’s go, Ashley! I got myself out there today and after a week of not running I only ran about 2/3 of the way around my 3 mile loop but tomorrow I will go out again and do the whole thing. I’m planning on being there on the 4th of July so “stand up and finish what you started”. You can do it.!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

